top of page

What is #VisibilityforInfertility?

In the UK, one in ten women struggle to conceive a child. Infertility is on the rise, but why don't we know anything about it?



















Branding by James Bridge


I’m investigating Britain’s infertile women and why the government refuses to acknowledge they exist.


The one thing, you never think to question. Because, it’s your god-given, birth-right to have a child. Because we have a womb. Because it’s what we’re made for. It’s what makes us women?


For my final major project - as part of my degree - I will be delving into the lives of two infertile women, the struggles they had with their futures, their health and their identities and asking what more needs to be done?


Both my case studies, Kat Derricourt and Keren Maclennan were offered no support when they received the news that turned much of their lives upside down.


I’ve chosen to cover this topic because at the age of 19 I was told I would probably never be able to have children.


A lead balloon, flippantly dropped into a 15 minute consultation.


No follow up, no support groups, no facts, no statistics and no online community to make me feel any less alone.


I don’t intend to feature in this project, because I want the case studies and the voices and organisations I speak with to galvanise action so that other women don’t have to suffer in the shadows.


My final major project is targeted at the Guardian’s lifestyle section, under the women’s segment. This is because it covers women’s health and politics in an empowering and bold way.


The Guardian’s podcast, Today in Focus, is the inspiration for my interview with gynaecologist Dr Julian Pampiglione who will discuss what infertility is.


I will interview women’s health advocate and MP Diane Abbott as well at the Society of Women’s Health to get their views on the government’s women’s health budget and to see where real change can be implemented.


My intended impact is to drive a campaign on the behalf of my case studies and which has the potential to lead to a call to arms.


I intend to do this by harnessing social media to build momentum by engaging with my audience.


Fluid branding across social media and my blog can also encompass a potential Guardian campaign.


Ethically speaking, this project is of an intensely sensitive nature and is a test to my journalism as I need to ensure I remain professional whilst empathetic when interviewing and creating my project.


Mrs Derricourt and Miss Maclennan have given full permission to be named and photographed.


My project is ambitious because I am shining a light on an emotional and challenging topic as a journalist.


Visibility for Infertility is original because these women exist, but there is little to nothing out there about them.


Nic.




Tags:



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page